Ethiopian Commodity Exchange Gets New Governing Board

ADDIS ABABA – The Ministry of Trade and Regional Integration or MoTRI appointed a new governing board to the Ethiopian Commodity Exchange (ECX).

State Minister of Trade Kassahun Gofe has been appointed as the chairman of the newly established board of the ECX.

The board also has five more government officials and four representatives of the private sector as members.

The newly appointed board of directors are State Minister of Agriculture Sofiya Kassa, Ethiopian Coffee and Tea Authority’s Director General Adugna Debela, central bank’s Vice Governor Solomon Desta, Commercial Bank of Ethiopia’s Deputy President Dereje Gufa, and MoTRI’s Director of projects Nuredin Mohammed.

The previous board led by its chairperson Dr Yinager Dessie handed over their post to the incoming members in an official ceremony on Tuesday.