Mamo Mihretu Becomes Central Bank Governor amid mini Cabinet Reshuffle 

ADDIS ABABA – Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed has reshuffled his Cabinet and appointed a new governor for the National Bank of Ethiopia (NBE).

The latest appointment of eight individuals to seven ministerial-level positions and a new central bank governor was announced by the office of the PM on Friday.

As per the PM office, Abiy has proposed three new ministers for parliamentary approval as per article 74 (2) of the Constitution.

Accordingly, the premier has named Eng. Habtamu Tegegn as Minister of Mines, replacing Eng. Takele Uma while Dr. Alemu Sime gets a node to assume the transport and logistics minister post.

Tegegn will replace the outgoing Dagmawit Moges who has been serving as Transport Minister since October 2018.

Oumer Hussien, who last week was sworn in to serve as Ethiopian ambassador abroad, will also be replaced by Dr. Girma Amente.

The outgoing ministers are among the four ministers who were seen off by Prime Minister Abiy’s cabinet last Saturday.

The fourth outgoing member is Teferi Fikre who is now replaced by Alemtsehay Pawlos as chief of the Prime Minister’s office and Minister of Cabinet Affairs in the latest mini reshuffle.

Alemtsehay’s post has become effective as of Wednesday, January 18, 2023, along with four other new appointments.

Accordingly, Dr. Mihretu Mamo has replaced Dr. Yinager Dessie as governor of the National Bank of Ethiopia. 

Prior to his latest post, Mamo was the Chief Executive Officer of Ethiopian Investment Holdings – the government investment arm.

PM has also named Taye Atske Selassie, who finished his term as  Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Ethiopia to the United Nations last week, as political policy advisory Minister, while Deacon Daniel Kibret became the Social affairs advisory Minister. 

Former Ethiopian ambassador to Kenya Melese Alemu has also been named as Democratic System Building Coordination Division Coordinator with the rank of minister.

Share this