Two Ethiopian HEIs Agree to Collaborate with University of South Africa

ADDIS ABABA – Two Ethiopian higher education institutions entered into agreement with the University of South Africa (UNISA) to collaborate on education, science, and research.

UNISA and the two universities – Addis Ababa University (AAU) and the Addis Ababa Science and Technology University (AASTU) – signed the Memorandum of Understandings (MoUs) on Tuesday.

UNISA, the largest comprehensive open distance learning university in South Africa, has been collaborating with Ethiopian universities in various areas in the recent past.

The formal agreements signed today would take the collaborations to a higher level, the South African institution said.

The purpose of the MoUs is to define areas for increased collaboration, scholarship, cooperation, and interaction for further promotion of education, science and research in which the universities desire to work together in the future.

The universities are also keen to advance their national, regional, continental and international interest particularly on advancing the African interest and African Union Agenda 2063.

In its operation in Ethiopia so far, UNISA graduated close to one thousand students, a majority of them with a doctoral degrees.

More than half of the doctoral graduates are university academics, according to the South African university.

Featured Image Cation; Prof Tassew Woldehanna, President of the AAU, and Prof Puleng LenkaBula, Vice-Principal of UNISA, exchanged signed agreements at the signing ceremony held in Addis Ababa on August 30, 20222.

Share this