Nominees for National Dialogue Commission Commissioners Revealed

ADDIS ABABA – The House of People’s Representative (HoPR) has revealed forty-two candidates shortlisted for the 11-member Ethiopian National Dialogue Commission.

The names of the male-dominated nominees and their profiles were disclosed online on Friday afternoon.

The announcement came 10 days after the House said it had finished shortlisting the 42 nominees from hundreds of names proposed by the public.

The list includes only three female nominees – namely Ambassador Tadelech Hailemichael, Hirut Gebresilassie Odda, and Ambassador Ayrorit Mohamed Yassin.

Ethiopian lawmakers approved the bill that established the dialogue commission in December, 2021, and immediately began collecting nominees from the public.

A total of 632 names were proposed by the public from all corners of the country during the nomination period that lasted for weeks, according to the house.

Last week, speaker of the house, Tagesse Chafo disclosed that the house shortlisted 42 candidates as per the qualifications stated in the proclamation.

The shortlisted nominees will be a subject of discussions with political parties, civic societies and religious leaders, before the eventual election of the 11 Commissioners.

The Commission will be tasked with facilitating “an inclusive dialogue and reconciliation process that would heal wounds, build a consensus on key issues and help the country to solve its complex problems”.

2 thoughts on “Nominees for National Dialogue Commission Commissioners Revealed

Comments are closed.