Nigeria superstar Victor Osimhen crowned 2023 CAF Player of the Year

Nigeria’s Victor Osimhen Crowned African Player of the Year

Nigeria striker Victor Osimhen has been named the 2023 African Men’s Player of the Year following his heroics for his country and club. His compatriot, Asisat Oshoala also won her record sixth CAF African Women’s Player of the Year.

The Super Eagles superstar Osimhen won the CAF African Player of the Year award for the first time at Monday’s awards ceremony in Marrakech after his goal glut inspired Napoli’s league title triumph last term.

Osimhen saw off challenges from Morocco full-back Achraf Hakimi and Egypt striker Mohammed Salah to land African football’s biggest individual prize.

Napoli’s hot-shot won the coveted prize after firing his club to their first Serie A title in over three decades. The honour capped a remarkable year for the powerful front man who also fired Nigeria to the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations with 10 goals to finish as the top scorer of the qualifiers.

Another Nigerian icon Oshoala also secured the CAF Women’s Player of the Year for a record sixth time. The attacker’s dominance continued as she inspired Barcelona to Champions League glory, finishing as the club’s top scorer with 27 goals across all competitions.

Morocco’s Walid Regragui was crowned CAF’s Best Coach of the Year in the Men’s category – recognized for guiding the Atlas Lions to a historic World Cup semi-final run in Qatar.

South Africa’s Desiree Ellis secured the Best Coach award in the women’s category for her outstanding work with Banyana Banyana. This was Ellis’ record fourth award in this category, which she has won consistently since 2018.

Morocco won the Men’s National Team award following their performance at the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022, while Nigeria won the Women’s National Team of the Year award.

Egyptian giants Al Ahly clinched the Male Club of the Year award, with the women’s award going to South African side Mamelodi Sundowns.

South Africa dominated the continent’s Best XI players in the Women’s Category while two members of Morocco’s World Cup semi-final team were included in the male version.

Full List of 2023 CAF Award Winners:

Player of the Year (Men): Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, Napoli)

Player of the Year (Women): Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men): Percy Tau (South Africa, Al Ahly)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women): Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)

Coach of the Year (Men): Walid Regragui (Morocco)

Coach of the Year (Women): Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Men): Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women): Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

Young Player of the Year (Men): Lamine Camara (Senegal, Metz)

Young Player of the Year (Women): Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)

National Team of the Year: (Men) Morocco and (Women): Nigeria

Club of the Year: (Men) Al Ahly of Egypt and (Women) Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa