Former National Electoral board Chairperson Birtukan Mideksa

Search for the Next Electoral Board Chairperson Begins

ADDIS ABABA – The search for the next chairperson of the National Electoral Board of Ethiopia (NEBE) is underway.

The Board’s top post has been vacant since its former chairwoman Birtukan Mideksa resigned in July.

Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed on Monday announced a recruitment committee of eight members as per the 2019 National Electoral Board of Ethiopia Establishment Proclamation.

Priest Tagay Tadele chairs the committee that has Teketel Yohanes (Prof.), Bayeh Bezabih, Yohanes Benti (PhD), Kassahun Follo, Erigbe Gebrehawariya, Engidaye Eshete, and Melaku Ezezew (Eng) as its members.

The recruitment committee has begun its duties and will soon proceed to issue a call for the public to propose candidates, per the PM Office.

The committee is tasked to select and submit a list of nominees for the prime minister who will then recommend his candidate for the next chair of the election board.

The eventual nominee will be appointed as NEBE chairperson by a majority vote of the lower house of the Ethiopian parliament.

The former chair Birtukan left the national election board last July after serving for four and half years in which she oversaw the 2021 general elections and three referendums in addition to managing political parties.