(From L) Prof Nurelegne, Prof Fekadu, Prof Ambissa, Prof Ahmed, Prof Abebaw, Prof Tadesse and Prof Yonas

AAU Promotes 7 Scholars to Full Professorship Rank

The Addis Ababa University (AAU) has promoted seven scholars to the rank of full Professorship.

The academics have been serving the University in different fields of disciplines, says the AAU.

The College of Natural and Computational Sciences (CNS) saw three of its scholars get full Professorships.

They are Prof of Inorganic Chemistry Yonas Chebude, Prof of Computational Chemistry Ahmed Mustefa, and Prof of Physics Fekadu Gashaw.

College of Education and Behavioural Studies (CEBS) promoted Prof of General Education Ambissa Kenea, and Prof of Higher Education Abebaw Yirga, to the rank.

The remaining two are Prof (Chemical Engineering) Nurelegne Tefera of the Addis Ababa Institute of Technology (AAiT) and Prof (Anthropology) Tadesse Berisso of the Institute of Ethiopian Studies.

Meanwhile, the University also conferred the Emeritus Professor title to three of its tenured professors.

The Emeritus title is bestowed upon Prof Miliared Direbew, Prof Atalay Alem, and Prof Tedros Solomon.

The title is restricted to professors who retired after not less than ten years’ service with the AAU for a distinguished contribution to teaching and research in the academic field and/or meritorious institutional leadership achievements.