Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda to Jointly Host 2027 Africa Cup of Nations

ADDIS ABABA – Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda have been awarded the right to jointly host the 2027 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon).

The decision was made by the Executive Committee of the Confederation of African Football (Caf) on Wednesday.

The Executive Committee met in Cairo to decide not only the winner of the bid to host Afcon 2027 but also the 2025 tournament.

Following the meeting, the President of CAF Patrice Motsepe announced that the Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda joint bid won the hosting rights of the Afcon 2027.

The three countries will become the first to host the Afcon in East Africa since Ethiopia last staged the event in 1972.

The Caf executive body also picked Morocco as the host of the 35th edition of the Africa Cup of Nations 2025..

Morocco will be hosting Africa’s flagship event for the second time, 35 years after the North African country staged the competition in 1988.

Caf has awarded the hosting right to Morocco nearly a year after it stripped Guinea of the right due to insufficient preparation.

Today’s decisions come with only a few months remaining for the next Africa Cup of Nations Côte d’Ivoire 2023.

The tournament will kick-off on 13 January 2024 in Abidjan with the final scheduled for 11 February 2024.

The Qualified Nations are:

Côte d’Ivoire (hosts), Algeria, Angola, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Congo DR, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Tunisia and Zambia