12 players have been nominated for Best FIFA Men's Player prize (Image © Fifa)

Messi, Mbappe, Osimhen up for FIFA Best Player Award

Erling Haaland, Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi, and Victor Osimhen are among the nominees for the Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year award.

The 12-strong list features six players from the treble-winning Manchester City as well as their manager Pep Guardiola, who is nominated for The Best Men’s Coach alongside four of his peers.

The star performers from a record-breaking FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 are reflected in The Best FIFA Women’s Player nominees, with the Golden Ball Award winner Aitana Bonmati one of four Spain players in contention. 

The 2021 and 2022 winners of the Best Women’s Coach award – Emma Hayes of England and Sarina Wiegman of the Netherlands – are two of the quintet nominated in this category.

Nominations for The Best Women’s Goalkeeper are dominated by those who shone in Australia and New Zealand during July and August. Golden Glove winner Mary Earps of England is joined by gold medallist Catalina Coll of Spain, among seven nominees. 

In the corresponding men’s category, five nominees including Yassine Bounou of Morocco and Andre Onana of Cameroon have been shortlisted.

The Best FIFA Women’s Player nominees: Aitana Bonmati (Spain), Linda Caicedo (Colombia), Rachel Daly (England), Kadidiatou Diani (France), Caitlin Foord (Australia), Mary Fowler (Australia), Alex Greenwood (England), Jennifer Hermoso (Spain), Lindsey Horan (USA), Amanda Ilestedt (Sweden), Lauren James (England), Sam Kerr (Australia), Mapi Leon (Spain), Hinata Miyazawa (Japan), Salma Paralluelo (Spain), and Keira Walsh (England)

The Best FIFA Men’s Player nominees: Julian Alvarez  (Argentina), Marcelo Brozovic  (Croatia), Kevin De Bruyne  (Belgium), Ilkay Gundogan (Germany), Erling Haaland (Norway), Rodri (Spain), Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Georgia), Kylian Mbappe (France), Lionel Messi  (Argentina), Victor Osimhen (Nigeria), Declan Rice (England) and Bernardo Silva (Portugal)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach nominees: Peter Gerhardsson   (Sweden), Jonatan Giraldez (Spain), Tony Gustavsson (Sweden), Emma Hayes(England) and Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands)

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach nominees: Pep Guardiola (Spain), Simone Inzaghi(Italy), Ange Postecoglou (Australia), Luciano Spalletti (Italy) and Xavi (Spain)

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper nominees: Mackenzie Arnold (Australia), Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany), Catalina Coll (Spain), Mary Earps (England), Christiane Endler (Chile), Zecira Musovic (Sweden), and Sandra Panos Garcia-Villamil (Spain)

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper nominees: Yassine Bounou (Morocco), Thibaut Courtois (Belgium), Ederson(Brazil), Andre Onana (Cameroon) and Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Germany)

The best FIFA Fan Award nominees: Club Atlético Colón fan (Argentina), Fran Hurndall (England), and Miguel Ángel, Millonarios fan (Colombia)

Fans from across the globe can cast their votes for The Best Women’s Player, The Best Men’s Player, The Best Women’s Coach, The Best Men’s Coach, The Best Women’s Goalkeeper, The Best Men’s Goalkeeper and The Fan Award between now and October 6.