Ethiopians Abdisa Tola and his sister-in-law Dera Dida took the men and women’s titles at Dubai Marathon

Ethiopian Athletes Dominate Dubai Marathon

Abdisa Tola and Dera Dida triumph as Ethiopian athletes sweep the top ten places of both men’s and women’s races in the 2023 Dubai Marathon.

The first Dubai Marathon since 2019 was held on Sunday and the winners are not only from Ethiopia but also from the same family.

Abdisa, younger brother of the world champ Tamirat Tola, won the men’s race on his marathon debut, clocking 2:05:42.

Taking second place in a time of 2 hours 05.51 was Deresa Geleta while Haymanot Alew Engdayehu was a close third in 02:05:57

“I prepared well for this race and that’s what helped me win,” said Abdisa. “The conditions were good but it was a bit humid. But I was prepared and left the rest to God.”

The women’s race was won by 2019 World XC silver medallist Dera who is also Tamirat’s wife.

In three previous marathons, Dera had never run faster than 2:21:45 or finished higher than fifth.

On Sunday, she won in a 2:21:11 (pb) – thirteen second ahead of her compatriot Ruti Aga while another Ethiopian marathoner finished third in 02:21:59.

“It was a wonderful race, very competitive, but I came here to win,” Dera said. “I was very confident that I could win and this positive attitude helped me.”

 “It was a wonderful race and of course, it was very emotional when I realized Abdisa had won as well,” she added

2023 Dubai Marathon Top 10 Winners


Abdisa Tola (ETH) 02:05:42
Deresa Gelete (ETH) 02:05:51
Haymanot Alew (ETH) 02:05:57
Gebretsadik Abraha (ETH) 02:06:08
Abraraw Misgenaw (ETH) 02:06:39
Kemal Husen (ETH) 02:08:09
Dechasa Alemu (ETH) 02:08:48
Alene Belay (ETH) 02:09:19
Abdu Assfaw (ETH) 02:09:46
Teresa Nyakola (ETH) 02:10:01


Dera Dida (ETH) – 02:21:11
Ruti Aga (ETH) – 02:21:24
Siranesh Yirga (ETH) – 02:21:59
Fikrte Wereta (ETH) – 02:22:50
Tigst Getnet (ETH) – 02:23:17
Meseret Kitata (ETH) – 02:23:53
Bedatu Hirpa (ETH) – 02:24:48
Bekelech Gudeta (ETH) – 02:24:56
Sorome Negash (ETH) – 02:26:40
Waganesh Mekasha (ETH) – 02:27:25