AU Congratulates PM Abiy over his Party’s Election Win

ADDIS ABABA – The Chairperson of the African Union Commission, Moussa F. Mahamat, has congratulated Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed after his party won the June 21 parliamentary elections.

The National Electoral Board of Ethiopia (NEBE) announced late last week that the ruling Prosperity Party secured 410 out of the 436 seats contested during the 2021 Election, enabling Abiy to stay in office for another term in office.

In a statement on Tuesday, AU said its Chairperson has welcomed the proclamation by the country’s Electoral Board of the final results of the general elections held 21 June 2021.

“The Chairperson takes this opportunity to warmly congratulate Prime Minister, Dr. Abiy Ahmed for the overwhelming victory of the Prosperity Party at the national and regional level,” reads AU’s statement.

Apart from AU, leaders of Somalia, Djibouti, and China have already sent congratulatory messages to Prime Minister Abiy for the landslide win he and the Prosperity Party have registered in the 6th General elections, and affirmed to work closely with the new administration.

AU Will Observe Sept. 6 Elections

Mahamat also commended the NEBE, political parties, civil society, and others “for their collective efforts in ensuring largely peaceful, orderly, and credible elections”, despite challenges relating to security, logistics and the Covid-19 pandemic.

The AU Commission said it is looking forward to closely monitoring the rescheduled elections in the remaining constituencies as planned. The Electoral board will hold the second round of election in Somali and Harari regional states on September 6, 2021.

Abiy’s party has already secured a majority parliamentary seats which assures Abiy, who came to power in 2018 after the former prime minister resigned due to widespread protests, a five-year term in the prime minister office.



Featured Image: Abiy speaking met with AU chairperson Mahamat at the Prime Minister office of Ethiopia on November 6, 2018. [Photo File/PoME]