Arrest Warrants Issued for former Addis Abeba Police Officers

ADDIS ABEBA – The Federal Police Commission has issued arrest warrants against 10 former officers of Addis Abeba Police.

In a statement issued late Monday, the commission said they participated directly and indirectly in plans to stir up violence and in activities that put at risk the constitutional order. The commission accused the 10 officers of treason and human rights abuses.

The arrest warrant list includes Commander Solomon Abrha Bisrat, Commander Hailemariam Berhane Gebremariam, Deputy Inspector Kibrom Gebru Gebreegziabher and Deputy Inspector Aregawi Gebrehiwot Asfaw.

The remaining are Assistant Inspector Geza’e Gebrehiwot Gebresilassie, Assistant Inspector Tesfa Kiros Gidey, Assistant Inspector Araya Gebreanania Kidanu, Assistant Inspector Solomon Wolay W/Abzgi, Chief Sajin Haftu Khasay, and Chief Sajin Hailay Woldu Gebremariam

All 10 fugitive ex-police officers went to the Tigray region from Addis Abeba to carry out orders from the Tigray People’s Liberation Front (TPLF), whose leaders are also among the wanted list.

The federal government launched a military operation last month against the TPLF after the group carried out a deadly attack on the federal army base in Tigray. The operation is now largely over with authorities sweeping the region for the group’s remaining leaders and members.