Horn of Africa Countries Adopt Regional Roadmap to Facilitate Trade

ADDIS ABABA – Ministerial meeting of the Horn of Africa initiative adopted Regional Trade Facilitation Roadmap, as a framework of action to boost trade among countries in the sub-region. 

The roadmap was adopted on Thursday during a virtual meeting attended by Finance and Trade ministers from Ethiopia, Kenya, Djibouti, Somalia, and South Sudan.

Launched in late 2019, the Horn of Africa Initiative aims at deepening cooperation and integration in the sub-region.

The ministerial meeting today reviewed the status of project preparation and implementation under the initiative, according to the Ministry of Finance.

It also said the ministers also discussed policy actions to promote regional integration and priority areas in the near future.

The meeting also offered direction for the newly adopted roadmap to be given top priority to serve as a guiding framework for comprehensive regional trade facilitation reforms over a three-year period.

At the meeting, Ethiopian officials expressed their commitment to implementing the roadmap by employing the necessary governance and consultation mechanism.

Development partners, who attended the meeting, were also urged to support the implementation of the newly adopted regional trade Facilitation roadmap.

High-level representatives from partners including African Development Bank, World Bank, European Union, and IGAD took part in the ministerial meeting.