The Best FIFA Football Awards 2022 Show

Lionel Messi Wins The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award

Lionel Messi has been crowned The Best player in men’s football, winning Fifa’s flagship award after leading Argentina to a historic World Cup victory in December.

Messi beat Karim Benzema and Kylian Mbappe, whose nation finished runner-up in the Qatar world cup, to the prize.

This marks the second time he has won the award since Fifa started their separate ceremony in 2016, following his triumph three years ago.

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2022, held in Paris on Monday, crowned Spanish midfielder Alexia Putellas as the the women’s Best player of the year, retaining the title she won a year ago.

Mary Earps was voted The Best Women’s Goalkeeper after in a year in which she lifted the UEFA Women’s EURO 2022 with the Lionesses. Argentina shot-stopper Emiliano Martínez got his hands on The Best Men’s Goalkeeper prize for his performances at the 2022 World Cup.

England’s women team boss Sarina Wiegman was honored as The Best coach – an award also won by Lionel Scaloni in the men’s game, who guided Argentina to their first World Cup triumph since 1986.

Meanwhile, the Puskas Award was given to Marcin Oleksy for the best goal of the year, beating out rivals including Theo Hernandez, Spanish star Salma Paralluelo and Kylian Mbappe for his World Cup final strike.

Oleksy is an amputee footballer who has one leg and plays on crutches – with his winning goal being a spectacular overhead kick.

In addition, Argentinian fans were recognised for their support of the national team during the World Cup, which saw impressive numbers travel to Qatar and millions of fans then welcomed their winning heroes home to Buenos Aires and across the country.

Prior to the main event, the Fifa/Fifpro World XIs of the year were also announced and only Morocco’s defender, Achraf Hakimi, made it to the World XI men list from Africa.

Full awards list

Best men’s player winner: Lionel Messi (Argentina)

Best women’s player winner: Alexia Putellas (Spain)

Best men’s coach: Lionel Scaloni (Argentina)

Best women’s coach: Sarina Wiegman (England Women)

Best men’s goalkeeper: Emiliano Martinez (Argentina)

Best women’s goalkeeper: Mary Earps (England)

Fifa Puskas Award winner: Marcin Oleksy (Poland)

Fifa Fair Play award: Luka Lochoshvili (Georgia)

Fans’ award: Argentina national team supporters

FIFPRO World XI men: Thibaut Courtois, Achraf Hakimi, Joao Cancelo, Virgil van Dijk, Kevin de Bruyne, Luka Modric, Casemiro, Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe, Karim Benzema, Erling Haaland

FIFPRO World XI women: Christiane Endler, Lucy Bronze, Mapi Leon, Leah Williamson, Wendie Renard, Alexia Putellas, Keira Walsh, Lena Oberdorf, Alex Morgan, Sam Kerr, Beth Mead